latest news

Board of Directors

Shelton Smith

Missouri Baptist University

Kim Finch
Chairman of the Board

Missouri State University


Jim Kern, Executive Director

Lincoln University

Doug Thomas

University of Central Missouri

Paul Watkins

Southeast Missouri State University


Joe Sartorius
Southwest Baptist University


Mick Arnold
Southwest Baptist University


Carol Maher
University of Missouri - Columbia


Uzziel Pecina
University of Missouri - Kansas City


Dean Vaizis
Lindenwood University


Jody Wood
St. Louis University

DESE Liaison
Paul Katnik

Leadership Academy Supervisor


Hits since 1/1/2010:
vo tech

MoSPE Stakeholders Work Group

The Missouri Standards for Teacher Education Programs (MoSTEP) was implemented in the fall 1999 with some slight revisions in the fall of 2006.  As you well know, educational practices have changed and so must the standards that define our preparation programs for educators.  The first step in moving this work forward was the development of the Missouri Teacher Standards and the Missouri Leadership Standards.  The Missouri Teacher Standards have finished a statewide review process; the Missouri Leadership Standards have been approved to be “Opened for Comment” by the Missouri State Board of Education. 

More Info on the MoSPE: